Nas' seminal Illmatic turns 20 this April. To put that in terms that will help remind you that we’re all constantly on a rocket ship to the grave, his modern critical counterpart Kendrick Lamar was only six years old at the time. Nas will help everyone celebrate and prep their anniversary articles by releasing a special two disc 20th Anniversary Edition of the album titled Illmatic XX through Sony Legacy. It comes out just four days prior to the official anniversary on April 15th, and will contain the usual selection of rare, unreleased demos and promo singles, plus a few exclusive freestyles from live radio appearances.

This year will also see the release of Time Is Illmatic, the debut feature length documentary from producer/director One9 and writer/producer Erik Parker, which will look into the album and its history. Keep an eye on for more information on the film in the coming months.

You can Stream bonus track ‘It Ain’t Hard To Tell (Stink Mix)’ exclusively over at RapGenius, and view the full Illmatic XX track listing below.

  • Disc 1: Remastered original album
  • 1. The Genesis
  • 2. N.Y. State Of Mind
  • 3. Life's A Bitch
  • 4. The World Is Yours
  • 5. Halftime
  • 6. Memory Lane (Sittin' In Da Park)
  • 7. One Love
  • 8. One Time 4 Your Mind
  • 9. Represent
  • 10. It Ain't Hard To Tell
  • Disc 2: Demos, Remixes & Live Radio
  • 1. I'm A Villain (previously unreleased)
  • 2. The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993 (previously unreleased
  • freestyle)
  • 3. Halftime (Butcher Remix)
  • 4. It Ain't Hard To Tell (Remix)(promo single)
  • 5. One Love (LG Main Mix)
  • 6. Life’s A Bitch (Arsenal Mix)(promo single)
  • 7. One Love (One L Main Mix)
  • 8. The World Is Yours (Tip Mix)
  • 9. It Ain't Hard To Tell (The Stink Mix)(UK single)
  • 10. It Ain't Hard To Tell (The Laidback Remix)(UK single)