Minimal wave/synth duo Xeno & Oaklander have rather abruptly released a new single, 'The Staircase' available for digital download now, in the first of a quartet of related announcements from the Brooklyn-ites.

It is taken from forthcoming new album 'Sets and Lights' that is to be released through Wierd records on October 11th (the second piece of news there). To coincide with the single news Taryn Waldman has directed a surrealist, beautiful-yet-eerie video for 'The Staircase' which can be seen below.

The video manages to encapsulate the aesthetic of Xeno and Oaklander and the underground movement that the minimal synth electronica duo inhabit; whilst paradoxically the track itself is arguably a touch warmer than previous work - though bodes well for the album.

Also details of a European tour have emerged, and it'll be the first time that thay have played in the UK since their tour with fellow minimal synth characters Led Er Est at the start of 2010. The details:

6 - London @ The Lexington
7 - London @ TBC

8 - Amsterdam @ Nieuwe Anita (w/ Future Islands)
9 - Zurich @ Longstreet Bar
10 - Milano @ Q21
11 - Basel @ New Jersey
12 - Vienna @ Fluc
13 - Stuttgart @ Komma
14 - Berlin @ King Kong Club
16 - Budapest @ Kuss Mich/Roham