If you (much like myself) are making your way down to Austin, Texas for its annual SXSW Music Conference and you're itching to find the best in brand new bands, make sure you check out one of the many gigs that Los Angeles-based quartet Northern American will be playing. Having only released one EP, they've just announced their debut album Modern Phenomena which drops on 18 March via Heist or Hit Records alongside a new video for album closer 'Elysian'.

Clocking in at just over 5 minutes, 'Elysian' is a slower song than what the rest of the album promises but offers a near-perfect tune for those late night drives no matter where you are in the world. The record was produced by Raymond Richards (Local Natives) and mastered by Mark Chalecki (Local Natives/Avi Buffalo), and seeing as they've already gotten support from Radio 6 and Amazing Radio, there's a pretty steady buzz already building for the band who sold their computers just so they could live out their dreams in music. Do yourself a favor and watch the video for 'Elysian' below.

  • Tracklist:
  • 01. Feel Like Whatever
  • 02. So Natural
  • 03. Modern Phenomena
  • 04. Somewhere Out There
  • 05. Blue
  • 06. Days Between
  • 07. You Remind Me
  • 08. Strange Behavior
  • 09. Nothing Personal
  • 10. Elysian

Wanna hear more music like this? Check out 405 Radio, or our New Music section.