A few weeks ago Merge Records shared the exciting news that they had snapped up Canadian post-punks Ought for the release of their third album. Today, the band has officially shared the details of the new album, which will be called Room Inside The World and will be coming out on February 16th.

Ought worked with producer Nicolas Vernhes for the album, and took inspiration from more diverse sources, including "Brian Eno and Stereolab synths, the Mekons’ 1985 album Fear and Whiskey, and Gerhard Richter and Kenneth Anger’s sexy, fluorescent hyperreal."

Along with the album announcement, Ought shared the lead single from the album, 'These 3 Things', and you can certainly hear the impact these alternative impetuses have had on their sound. The song is a new-wave reconstruction of the frenetic guitars that we've come to know and love from the band, placing more emphasis on cleaner and more spacious production, without losing their trademark energy and sharpness. Listen to 'These 3 Things' below.

Room Inside The World track list:

1. Into the Sea
2. Disgraced in America
3. Disaffectation
4. These 3 Things
5. Desire
6. Brief Shield
7. Take Everything
8. Pieces Wasted
9. Alice