Following on from the release of his EP The King of Anxiety, Petite Noir aka Yannick Illunga has announced a new album: La Vie Est Belle / Life Is Beautiful. Handy translation included for those unacquainted with French. And that's the artwork above.

At the same time he's shared a video for album track 'Down'. It was filmed on the streets of Lubumbashi, the second largest city in Democratic Republic of Congo, when Illunga – himself half-Congolese, half-Angolan – visited earlier this year.

Another track on the album is called 'MDR', which may reference the French text-slang for "mort de rire" – which means "dying of laughter" (equivalent to "lol"). It may mean something else in this case, but I thought I'd add this fun fact for your brainular pleasure.

La Vie Est Belle / Life Is Beautiful is scheduled for release on 11th September.

  • La Vie Est Belle / Life Is Beautiful tracklist:
  • 01 Intro Noirwave
  • 02 Best
  • 03 Freedom
  • 04 Seventeen (Stay)
  • 05 Just Breathe
  • 06 La Vie Est Belle / Life Is Beautiful
  • 07 MDR
  • 08 Colour
  • 09 Down
  • 10 Inside
  • 11 Chess