Over the course of 2012 William Doyle metamorphosed himself and his sound into a fine contemporary electronic parlance, under the name of East India Youth.

Formally of 6music-endorsed guitar outfit Doyle & The Fourfathers, EIY partly has roots in a reaction against this past, "a reaction to what I was doing in the band" he explained in a loquacious piece with The Quietus. Thankfully this act of convalescence has produced a glorious, eclectic Eno-esque journey that traverses through motorik realms via a doleful dance-floor - see yet to be released album TOTAL STRIFE FOREVER as evidence of this which you can stream here.

So impressed we were, we asked the man himself to create our 25th Plastic Platform mix for us; and he has most certainly not disappointed us with this fantastic mix of stunning tunes.

Greetings. This mix comes fresh from my current sonic palette. It's a taster of the textures and soundscapes I'm incorporating with some of my new material. I'm really interested in mixing together a lot of the ideas that are on show here. For instance, melding the dramatic harmonic ambience of Popol Vuh's soundtrack to Werner Herzog's Aguirre: The Wrath of God and the more sequencer driven concoctions of some early Oneohtrix Point Never with some of the sheer brutality witnessed on the likes of recent Death Grips, Perc and the fantastic new project from Fuck Buttons' Andrew Hung: Dawn Hunger. In between are some slightly queasy moments from Laurel Halo and Growing plus the ecstatic genius build/release of Caribou's Niobe.

Doing mixes like this serves as an appropriate mood and ideas board that I can look back on for inspiration. Though whether I carry out any of the aforementioned juxtapositions or not is currently uncertain due to a particularly fertile period of musical revelation I'm going through at the moment. I feel like I find myself absorbing and learning more and more everyday and thus the breadth of my ambition increases. For now though, enjoy this short mix and imagine the possibilities that lie ahead of you...

  • Popol Vuh - Aguirre I (L'acrime di rei)
  • Death Grips - Lost Boys
  • Perc - A New Brutality
  • Caribou - Niobe
  • Growing - Camera 84
  • Laurel Halo - Carcass
  • Dawn Hunger - Stumbling Room
  • Oneohtrix Point Never - Russian Mind
  • Popol Vuh - Aguirre I (L'acrime di rei)