The Polaris Prize, given to the Canadian artist with the best album of the year, has trimmed down its nominees to the final ten.

Among the final nominees are veterans Godspeed You! Black Emperor's 2012 return Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!, Toronto sludge punk trio METZ with its self-titled debut LP, twin sister outfit Tegan and Sara's most recent release Heartthrob, and other notable acts.

The ten final nominees (full list below) were chosen out of a preliminary group of more than 40, by 200-plus judges. The final award will be given out September 23rd at the Carlu in Toronto, with $30,000 going to the winner as well.

Polaris Prize nominees:

  • A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation
  • Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
  • Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite
  • Metric – Synthetica
  • Purity Ring – Shrines
  • Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
  • Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob
  • Whitehorse – The Fate of the World Depends On This Kiss
  • Young Galaxy – Ultramarine