Chicago-based label Polyvinyl is set to release a twenty-three track benefit album to help raise money towards relief efforts in Japan following the tsunami earlier this year.

Entitled, Japan 3.11.11: A Benefit Album, the twenty-three track compilation includes a selection of b-sides, rarities, live performances, covers and remixes from the likes of Montreal, Deerhoof,, Xiu Xiu, Casiokids, Starfucker, Efterklang, Owen and many, many more.

Japan 3.11.11 is out now digitally but will also be released on September 26th as a limited edition 180-gram red 2xLP vinyl, strictly limited to 2000 copies.

All profits from sales of the album will be donated to the American Red Cross to support the International Red Cross in their ongoing relief efforts in Japan


  • 01 Deerhoof: Giga Dance (Live)
  • 02 Love Is All: Pappas Tant
  • 03 Efterklang: Alike (Opiate Remix)
  • 04 Birthmark: Big Man
  • 05 Kit: Brass Palms
  • 06 Shugo Tokumaru: Video Killed the Radio Star
  • 07 Asobi Seksu: Vicious Bears
  • 08 Caithlin De Marrais: Sorry
  • 09 Alright: Moving
  • 10 Owen: Guest List 
  • 11 Pele: Pequod
  • 12 Take Care: Living Forever 
  • 13 Toe: Ordinary Day
  • 14 Xiu Xiu: Hyunhye's Theme (Acoustic)
  • 15 David Bazan: American Flags
  • 16 XBXRX: Want
  • 17 Midstress: Too Many Shoes, Not Enough Feet
  • 18 Starfucker: The Wisdom of Insecurity
  • 19 of Montreal: Sex Karma (St. Vincent Remix) 
  • 20 Casiokids: London Zoo
  • 21 Lizard Police: Same Socks 
  • 22 Joan of Arc: Steady (Demo) 
  • 23 Common Loon: A Moment in Energy Transfers