"It's an back-handed ode to humanity's resilient self regard in the face of inevitable oblivion. Then the trap door opens," says Protomartyr's lead singer Joe Casey on 'Why Does It Shake?', the first single from his band's third record The Agent Intellect.

The record, named "after an ancient philosophical questioning of how the mind operates in relation to the self" according to Protomartyr's press release, follows up the band's sophomore breakout Under Color of Official Right. The Agent Intellect aims to conjure the self-molding demeanor of the predecessors, looking for aimless beauty in tepid nothingness while expanding the band's cascading wall of drilling rock.

Check out 'Why Does It Shake?' below and pre-order The Agent Intellect today before its October 9th release on Hardly Art.

Check out the tracklist below:

  • 1. The Devil in His Youth
  • 2. Cowards Starve
  • 3. I Forgive You
  • 4. Boyce or Boice
  • 5. Pontiac 87
  • 6. Uncle Mother's
  • 7. Dope Cloud
  • 8. The Hermit
  • 9. Clandestine Time
  • 10. Why Does It Shake?
  • 11. Ellen
  • 12. Feast of Stephen