Robyn Hitchcock is joining the ranks of Neil Young, Iggy Pop, and Peter Gabriel by releasing an album solely comprised of cover songs. The former Soft Boys member will be releasing The Man Upstairs on 26 August through Yep Roc, and will feature “new originals, classic covers, and little known gems,” according to a press release. It's his follow-up to 2010's Love From London and he teamed up with folk producer Joe Boyd (Nick Drake, Fairport Convention).

It's described in that aforementioned press release as a "Judy Collins album," that “Elektra would have released in 1967 — part well-known favorites, part personal discoveries, and part originals. The multi-tiered approach offered Hitchcock the rare opportunity to record as a performer, not ‘just another singer-songwriter laying their freshest eggs.’" It'll have covers of The Doors, Roxy Music, The Psychedelic Furs, Grant Lee-Phillips, and I Was A King. You can view the full tracklist below as well as stream its first offering, a cover of The Furs' 'The Ghost In You'.

  • Tracklist:
  • 01. The Ghost In You
  • 02. San Francisco Patrol
  • 03. To Turn You On
  • 04. Trouble In Your Blood
  • 05. Somebody To Break Your Heart
  • 06. Don’t Look Down
  • 07. Ferries
  • 08. Comme Toujours
  • 09. The Crystal Ship
  • 10. Recalling The Truth

Wanna hear more music like this? Check out 405 Radio, or our New Music section.