Later this fall, Shearwater will be sharing a brand new collection of covers from previous tour-mates, courtesy of Sub Pop.

Included on the collection, entitled Fellow Travelers, will be covers of St. Vincent, Coldplay, Wye Oak, and plenty more. Also included in the effort is a cover of celebrated Xiu Xiu track 'I Luv The Valley OH!!,' which is available to stream below.

Band member Jonathan Meiburg explained why he included the Xiu Xiu track, saying, “Xiu Xiu’s deeply anxious song always seemed like it wanted to be a big rock anthem to me, so we decided to go for it and and blow it out ... I love how this song -- about imploring a partner to take Mifeprex, I’m pretty sure -- seems to explode and implode at the same time, a state of ecstatic terror that Jamie’s music often inhabits and that lurks in a lot of my songs, too.”

Fellow Travelers is slated for release November 26th. See the rest of the tracklist below.

Fellow Travelers tracklist:

  • 01 Our Only Sun (Jesca Hoop Cover)
  • 02 I Luv the Valley OH!! (Xiu Xiu Cover)
  • 03 Hurts Like Heaven (Coldplay Cover)
  • 04 To Be of Use (Smog Cover)
  • 05 Natural One (Folk Implosion Cover)
  • 06 Ambiguity (David Thomas Broughton Cover)
  • 07 Cheerleader (St. Vincent Cover)
  • 08 Tomorrow (Clinic Cover)
  • 09 A Wake for the Minotaur (Shearwater & Sharon Van Etten Cover
  • 10 Mary Is Mary (Wye Oak)
  • 11 Fucked Up Life (The Baptist Generals)