Having been touring to great acclaim over the last couple of years, legendary shoegaze band Slowdive announced that this year would be the year for new music from them. They made good on that promise with the release of 'Star Roving' earlier this year, and now have announced the details of their full comeback album. Slowdive is set for release through Dead Oceans on May 5th, and along with this announcement comes new track 'Sugar For The Pill'.

'Sugar For The Pill' is slight more relaxed than the high-wire 'Star Roving', but shares the atmosphere for which Slowdive have become known as experts. The song comes paired with a video by in/out, which takes inspiration from the album artwork which is itself a still from Harry Smith’s cult classic animation Heaven and Earth Magic (you can see the art above).

Check out 'Sugar For The Pill' below and the tracklist for Slowdive beneath.

Slowdive tracklist:

  • 1. Slomo
  • 2. Star Roving
  • 3. Don’t Know Why
  • 4. Sugar For The Pill
  • 5. Everyone Knows
  • 6. No Longer Making Time
  • 7. Go Get It
  • 8. Falling Ashes