"I gave up wasting mental energy on people who didn't have my back," said frontwoman Sadie Depuis of Speedy Ortiz, in regards to her band's new album Foil Deer. "Listening to our old records, I get the sense that I was putting myself in horrible situations just to write sad songs. The music isn't coming from a dark place, and without slipping into self-empowerment jargon, it feels stronger."

That album, their follow-up to last year's Real Hair EP and 2013's debut album Major Arcana, will be out on 21 April via Carpark. They've shared the record's tracklist and an incredibly creative comic illustrated by Michael DeForge, both of which you can take a look at below.

  • Tracklist:
  • 01 Good Neck
  • 02 Raising the Skates
  • 03 The Graduates
  • 04 Dot X
  • 05 Homonovus
  • 06 Puffer
  • 07 Swell Content
  • 08 Zig
  • 09 My Dead Girl
  • 10 Ginger
  • 11 Mister Difficult
  • 12 Dvrk Wvrld