"Each song on Ices became a collage of times, places, and people," says Lia Ices of her new album, Ices. "Most of them started in the Hudson Valley, where Eliot and I wrote and recorded vocals, guitars, synths, and beat ideas. We'd send those first incarnations to Clams Casino in New Jersey and then we'd meet up in Brooklyn to arrange the new parts together."

She continues: "We worked in the penthouse of the Wythe Hotel - a floating glass box , a blank slate. We'd set up our computer, mixing speakers, midi keyboards, and all our weird gear, plus thai food and red wine. We'd bring up one of our demos and we'd sit behind the midi keyboard and sift through sounds and ideas and beats and find new things together. After the Wythe Sessions (in Brooklyn) we took different tracks to Woodstock and Los Angeles to layer in live drums and percussion, and I went to Atlanta to record final vocals. For the first time, Lia Ices felt like an inclusive project with its own identity, not just a name."

You can listen to the album below courtesy of NPR. Ices is released on September 15th via Jagjaguwar.

  • Tracklisting
  • 1. 'Tell Me'
  • 2. 'Thousand Eyes'
  • 3. 'Higher'
  • 4. 'Love Ices Over'
  • 5. 'Magick'
  • 6. 'Electric Arc'
  • 7. 'Sweet as Ice'
  • 8. 'Creature'
  • 9. 'How We Are'
  • 10. 'Waves'

Head here to submit your own review of this album.