"There are several songs on this record that I literally wept while writing," says Orenda Fink in a recent interview with Underneath This. "There are actual tear stains on my lyric sheets. That sounds like the beginning of a country song. But really, the recording was also intense in a different way. By the time I recorded, I felt like I had walked through the fire and had come out a healed, if not stronger person. So I had this body of work that I wanted to honor by going back to those painful places. It all seems like a blur to me now, really."

You can listen to the album below courtesy of NPR. Blue Dream is out on August 19th via Saddle Creek.

  • Tracklisting:
  • 1. Ace of Cups
  • 2. You Can Be Loved
  • 3. This Is a Part of Something Greater
  • 4. You Are a Mystery
  • 5. Holy Holy
  • 6. Blue Dream
  • 6. Sweet Disorder
  • 7. Poor Little Bear
  • 8. Darkling
  • 9. All Hearts Will Beat Again

Head here to submit your own review of this album.