"When I was in high school, I remember, on my Converse sneakers, on one side I had written 'Social Distortion', and on the other side I had written 'Guns N’ Roses'. Somebody said, 'Hey man, you can’t have both those bands on there; that’s punk and that’s metal.' I was like, 'Check this out: My pen just totally worked when I wrote them on either side of my shoe, and the cassettes are totally in my backpack right now, so it's probably O.K."

Ryan Adams wasn't necessarily referencing his new album when he brought up that childhood memory with the New York Times, but it's worth keeping in mind before you press play. Listen to it below courtesy of NPR. The album is released on September 8th via Pax-Am/Columbia Records.

  • Tracklisting:
    • 1. Gimme Something Good
    • 2. Kim
    • 3. Trouble
    • 4. Am I Safe
    • 5. My Wrecking Ball
    • 6. Stay With Me
    • 7. Shadows
    • 8. Feels Like Fire
    • 9. I Just Might
    • 10. Tired Of Giving Up
    • 11. Let Go
    He plays the following UK shows this September:
    • Thursday 18th London Shepherds Bush Empire
    • Friday 19th London Shepherds Bush Empire
    • Wednesday 24th Manchester Albert Hall
    • Thursday 25th Glasgow Royal Concert Hall