"Carrie & Lowell is a record without answers, heavy with doubt despite Stevens' faith in God and at least a willingness on his part to continue to believe that family and love and relationships are worth it despite the traumas, darkness and heartache: "What's the point of singing songs / if they'll never even hear you?" asks the singer on 'Eugene'....yet he continues to sing, to question everything around him. As long as Stevens continues to pursue the unanswerable and chase down myths and ghosts, he'll continue to make incredible music. Carrie & Lowell is just the latest in a long line of unimpeachable achievements."

That's what we thought of Sufjan Stevens' new album, but what do you think? Listen to it below courtesy of NPR and let us know in the comments section. Carrie & Lowell is released on March 30/31st via Asthmatic Kitty.

  • Carrie & Lowell Tracklist:
  • 01. Death With Dignity
  • 02. Should Have Known Better
  • 03. All of Me Wants All of You
  • 04. Drawn to the Blood
  • 05. Fourth of July
  • 06. The Only Thing
  • 07. Carrie & Lowell
  • 08. Eugene
  • 09. John My Beloved
  • 10. No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross
  • 11. Blue Bucket of Gold

Head here to submit your own review of this album.