Surfer Blood is the kind of band that keeps showing up in your life at just the right time. Like so many others, I heard Astro Coast back in 2009 right as I was in the hormonal throes of my teen years, offering a perfect soundtrack to those angsty times. And as the band has grown, so have I. Their most recent album, Snowdonia, was a great expression of the old "sunny music, sad lyrics" formula that showcased an evolving sound. It was the band's first album since the tragic death of guitarist Thomas Fekete, who passed away at 27 from stomach cancer, and the record seemed to be something of a rebirth for the band.

They continue on that road with an LP entitled Covers, which comes out on Oct. 11 through Joyful Noise Recordings. They'll teasing the full record with the release of their rendition of Mudhoney's track 'Good Enough,' which you can listen to below.

As the title and new song would suggest, this record is a collection of covers. But it is not any old set of covers. Surfer Blood has put together an eclectic set of tracks with a grouping so strange that it would seem to only make sense on a 13-year-old's iPod. Yet here we have Surfer Blood takes on OutKast's 'Hey Ya,' Modern English's 'I Melt With You' and The Breeders' 'Little Fury.'

But not only is a bizarrely wonderful collection of tracks, it will also be a special treat to vinyl lovers. 1,000 foil-numbered copies will be available on amber vinyl with black splatter. And it will be exclusive to Joyful Noise Recordings' website and merch tables at Surfer Blood's upcoming shows (which you can check out further down the page). If you'd like to smartly jump on a pre-order of Covers, you can do so here.

In the meantime, take a listen to Surfer Blood deftly take on Mudhoney's 'Good Enough,' then take a peek at the full track list and the band's upcoming tour dates below.

Track List

  • 1. Box Elder (Pavement)
  • 2. Hey Ya (OutKast)
  • 3. Death And The Maiden (Verlaines)
  • 4. World Of Pain (Cream)
  • 5. I Melt With You (Modern English)
  • 6. Little Fury (Breeders)
  • 7. Summer Song (Chad & Jeremy)
  • 8. Good Enough (Mudhoney)
  • 9. Hey Sandy (Polaris)

Tour Dates

  • 11 October - The Jinx; Savannah, GA
  • 13 October - Cattivo; Pittsburgh, PA
  • 14 October - Musica; Akron, OH
  • 15 October - Rumba Cafe; Columbus, OH
  • 17 October - The Stache At The Intersection; Grand Rapids, MI
  • 18 October - Canopy Club; Champaign, IL
  • 19 October - The House Cafe; DeKalb, IL
  • 20 October - The Lyric Club; Green Bay, WI
  • 21 October - Cavalier Theater; La Crosse, WI
  • 22 October - Gabe's; Iowa City, IA
  • 23 October - Rose Music Hall; Columbia, MO
  • 24 October - Tidball's; Bowling Green, KY
  • 26 October - High Dive; Gainesville, FL
  • 27 October - The Social; Orlando, FL