Welcome to another news roundup full of the latest music and film news!

SWSW Roundup

Rather than to write a million different news updates for SXSW we thought we'd just sum up the latets additions! Built By Snow (picture above) will be playing the Cedar Door tomorrow at 9pm. Still Flyin' will be playing numerous shows at SXSW and The Drones will be playing at Emo's on the 17th.


We recently reviewed their EP, Silver Poetry, which was a nice slice of ambient pie! Check this video of them performing at the Union Chapel! It's damn impressive!

Voluntary Butler Scheme Remix Competition

Mr Jones, of Voluntary Butler Scheme fame, has put all the parts to his smash hits Multiplayer (out 2/3 guys!) and Tabasco Sole (coming out in May time) up online for any of you remix types to grab hold, chuck in a bag, shake around and then spill out. Check out the comp by clicking here!

Woolfire Festival '09

Wooldfire Festival is back and is taking place between the 14th and 16th of August at Vicarage Farm in Winchester. They've also announced Pure Reason Revolution and Keyboard Choir will be playing! Go to www.woolfire.com for more info!


Spiritualized will perform their classic album Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space live in its entirety at the Royal Festival Hall, London on Monday 12th October 2009. Head over to www.atpfestival.com for more info!

Bloc Party

Bloc Party are set to release a new single ‘Signs’ (Armand Van Helden Remix) on 27 April, through Wichita Recordings. The single is taken from the band’s forthcoming album ‘Intimacy Remixed’ which will be released on 11 May. Head over to www.blocparty.com for more info!


Los Angeles' Eulogies have been tapped as support for this Spring's The Dears/Great Northern US tour. These dates follow their performances at SXSW and co-headlining tour with DC's Middle Distance Runner.

The Xcerts

Hot on the heels of the release of their single ‘Crisis in the Slow Lane’ The Xcerts can now confirm that they will be embarking on an in-store tour the week that their album ‘In The Cold Wind We Smile’ is released (30th March). The dates of the band ‘In The Cold Wind We Smile’ in-store tour are as follows: MONDAY 30TH MARCH 4.00PM – 1UP, ABERDEEN TUESDAY 31ST MARCH 5.00PM – FOPP, UNION STREET, GLASGOW WEDNESDAY 1st APRIL 5.00PM – RISE, CHELTENHAM THURSDAY 2ND APRIL 6.30PM – PURE GROOVE, LONDON FRIDAY 3RD APRIL 6.00PM – BANQUET, KINGSTON

The Wave Pictures

Indie pop trio The Wave Pictures have announced details of a new single and an accompanying UK tour in April.  ‘If You Leave It Alone’ will be released via Moshi Moshi Records on the 13th April, and is the lead track from the forthcoming new album of the same title out on the 4th May. Full details can be found at www.myspace.com/thewavepictures

Hinterland Festival

Hinterland have announced that This Will Destroy You will be playing at this years festival! For more info head over to www.hinterlandfestival.com