The Barclaycard Mercury Prize 2012 shortlist has been unveiled, and it includes the following acts:

  • Jessie Ware - Devotion
  • The Maccabees - Given to the Wild
  • Roller Trio - Roller Trio
  • Django Django - Django Django
  • Field Music - Plumb
  • Michael Kiwanuka - Home Again
  • Sam Lee - Ground of its Own
  • Richard Hawley - Standing at the Sky's Edge
  • Ben Howard - Every Kingdom
  • Lianne La Havas - Is Your Love Big Enough
  • Alt-J - An Awesome Wave
  • Plan B - Ill Manors

So, how do you all feel about that? Surprised? Let us know in the comments section below, and check out our alternative list here.

The winner of the 2012 Prize will be announced at the Barclaycard Mercury Prize Awards Show at the Roundhouse on Thursday 1 November.