It's that time of the year again: the BBC Music Sound of 2017 longlist has just been unveiled, and the successor to last year's winner Jack Garratt will be known on Friday January 6th on Clara Amfo's show at BBC Radio 1.

Among the fifteen artists chosen by critics, broadcasters, DJs, and other proeminent figures of the music industry are the likes of Anderson .Paak, Declan McKenna, Nadia Rose, and Jorja Smith, but only five of them will make it to the final shortlist. Starting on Monday January 2nd, one finalist will be revealed each day on BBC Radio 1 before the winner is revealed at the wnd of the week.

"The BBC’s commitment to developing new talent goes to the very heart of our public service purpose," explains the director of BBC Music and Radio, Bob Shennan. "BBC Music Sound Of, as well as BBC Introducing, are increasingly important ways that music lovers can make sure they are immediately across the musical superstars of the future."

The fifteen artists that made the longlist are:

  • AJ Tracey
  • Anderson .Paak
  • Cabbage
  • Dave
  • Declan McKenna
  • Jorja Smith
  • Maggie Rogers
  • Nadia Rose
  • Rag ‘n’ Bone Man
  • Ray BLK
  • RAYE
  • Stefflon Don
  • The Amazons
  • The Japanese House
  • Tom Grennan