Drake and Future may have named their mixtape What a Time to be Alive, but it's none other than one of the Internet's most famous cats,Lil Bub, who is proving that statement to ring more true now than ever before.

Why is that, you wonder? Well, it just so happens that the magical space cat herself will be releasing an album. Titled Science & Magic, it drops on 4 December via Joyful Noise Recordings and is bound to be the year's hottest (and cutest) release. It's far from her first foray into music as well - she's friends with Steve Albini, has production credits on a Kelley Deal single, she has her own song written by Aesop Rock and Kimya Dawson, has worked with David Yow, and is featured on Run the Jewels' Meow the Jewels.

Check out the tracklist, watch a behind-the-scenes video, and read what her BFF Andrew W.K. has to say about the release below (and as someone who has met her twice, I can confirm that she is in fact the softest creature in the universe). The album is available to pre-order now and 25% of net profits from the sale of the record will be donated to Lil Bub's Big Fund for the ASPCA to benefit special needs pets.

What you hold in your hands is the first ever collection of songs officially made by Lil BUB. That's right. This is music made by a magical space cat. How is that possible? Allow me to explain... First of all, it should be understood that this album is a genuine musical experience. Also, it should be understood that this is not a novelty item or a cheap and disillusioning gimmick. This is a bonafide and musically gratifying concept album, which entirely emerged from the soul and spirit of Lil BUB herself. How do I know this? Because BUB told me so.,/p>

My name is Andrew W.K. and I have had the privilege of working with BUB and making music with BUB and even holding BUB in my arms. Not only is she the softest creature I have ever encountered, she is also the most musically and compassionately gifted. The songs on this album are her vision. They are by her, about her, and are her. Listening to these songs is the sonic equivalent to holding Lil BUB in your own arms.

It may seem impossible that a cat could compose an entire album of carefully crafted instrumental music, but BUB is not simply "a cat". She came from the deep unknown, on an intergalactic mission to help the people and animals of earth with her magic, talents, and otherworldly wisdom. I can attest to her power - the time I spent with her absolutely made me a better person.

The songs on this album are the soundtrack to BUB's universal adventure, and a soundtrack to the universe itself. You'll feel transported by the music's stimulating spirit, and taken to places beyond your imagination's limits, all the while experiencing the sonic aura of BUB's loving and compassionate presence.

BUB is more than just a "muse"; she wrote this music and used the musicians on this album (BUB's dude, Mike, and his close friend Matt, who is also the official bubbysitter), as her creative vessels to get the music from inside of her spirit and into your mind. If it weren't for BUB, this music would not exist.

  • Tracklist:
  • 1. Hello Earth
  • 2. New Gravity
  • 3. Assimilation
  • 4. A Friend
  • 5. GOOD JOB
  • 6. Another Voyage
  • 7. Science and Magic
  • 8. Space Sister
  • 9. Earth Sister
  • 10. Rebirth