It's no secret that Scotland has been producing amazing bands for quite some time now, but often or not that area of the world is overlooked. Thankfully the Scottish Album of the Year Award is here to put things right.

The longlist of albums is as follows:

  • King Creosote & Jon Hopkins - Diamond Mine
  • Bill Wells & Aidan Moffat - Everything’s Getting Older
  • Mogwai - Hardcore Will Never Die But You Will
  • Rustie - Glass Swords
  • FOUND - factorycraft
  • We Were promised Jetpacks - In The Pit Of The Stomach
  • Tommy Smith - Karma
  • Remember Remember - The Quickening
  • 6th Borough Project - One Night In The Borough
  • Chris Stout - Brazillian Theory
  • Jonny - Jonny
  • Mungo’s Hifi - Forward ever
  • Muscles of Joy - Muscles of Joy
  • Bwani Junction - Fully Cocked
  • Twin Atlantic - Free
  • Fudge Fingas - Now About How
  • Happy Particles - Under Sleeping Waves
  • Steve Mason & Dennis Bovell - Ghosts Outside
  • Richard Craig - Inward
  • Conquering Animal Sound- Kammerspiel

The winner will be announced on June 19th, and will receive a cool £20'000 (9 of the runners up will receive £1000, which is nice.)

Our favourite is Glass Swords by Rustie, though they all deserve their place on the list.