The Ivor Novello awards, which showcases excellence in music writing, were held today in London's Grovesnor Hotel.

Alt-J picked up the album award for last year's An Awesome Wave, whilst The Maccabees won 'Best Contemporary Song' 'or Pelican. Calvin Harris won 'Songwriter of the Year', and Noel Gallagher won 'Outstanding Song Collection'.

Emeli Sande picked up two awards, one for ‘Best Song Musically and Lyrically’, and the PRS award for ‘Most Performed Work’, after it’s extensive airtime on the BBC Olympics coverage last year.

See below for full list of winners.

  • International Achievment Award – Gavin Rossdale
  • Songwriter of the Year – Calvin Harris
  • Music Most Performed Work - Next To Me - Emeli Sandé
  • Outstanding Song Collection – Noel Gallagher
  • Best Song Musically and Lyrically – Next to Me (Hugo Chegwin, Harry Craze, Anup Paul and Emeli Sande)
  • Best Contemporary Song – Pelican (Sam Doyle, Rupert Jarvis, Orlando Weeks, Felix White and Hugo White)
  • Album Award – Alt-j (Thomas Green, Joe Newman, Gwilym Sainsbury and Augustus Unger-Hamilton)
  • Best Original Film Score – Anna Karenina (Dario Marianelli)
  • Best Television Soundtrack – Lucian Freud: Painted Life (John Harle)