The Mountain Goats have announced their 2002 album, All Hail West Texas, is to be reissued in the UK on 5th August on Merge.

All Hail West Texas was originally released as a free-standing compact disc on the late Emperor Jones.

Frontman John Darnielle has spoken about the album on their website: "Getting the reissue together has been a really interesting project for me, because it involves going through old boxes of tapes, which necessarily means exhuming the corpses I became at several turns between then and now." Read his full statement here.

The band have also announced a DUO tour. John Darnielle and Peter Hughes will play some UK and European dates in October, while drummer Jon Wurster will sit it out.

  • October
  • 7th - Bristol, St Georges Church
  • 8th - London, Union Chapel
  • 9th - Manchester, Royal Northern College of Music
  • 10th - Glasgow, Arches
  • 12th - Belgium, Handelsbeurs
  • 13th - Amsterdam NL, People's Place
  • 14th - Cologne Germany, D Luxor
  • 15th - Paris, France, La Gaite Lyrique
  • 18th - Madrid Spain, venue TBC
  • 19th - Barcelona Spain, Caprichos de Apolo