The wait for the follow-up to The National's outwardly glorious 2013 album Trouble Will Find Me will unfortunately continue, but that doesn't mean singer Matt Berninger won't be churning out new music on the side.

The National frontman has announced his newest side-project EL VY (pronounced el-vye) with Ramona Falls figurehead Brent Knopf, formerly of Menomena. The duo's new album Return To The Moon is set to debut October 30th courtesy of 4AD.

The project has actually been in the works for years with Berninger and Knopf finally coming together on previous collaborative promises and recording the record in early 2015. On the creation of the project, Knopf says, "I never worried about sending Matt something unfinished. He's able to imagine where it can go. He can grab the four bars that will become the core of the track and develop them into something amazing."

"This record is more autobiographical than anything else I've written," Berninger says. "But the details aren't true. It's written in the voices of a few invented characters, composites of different people - myself, my wife, and other people I was thinking about."

New albums from The National and Ramona Falls will not be put on the backburner, however, as both are reportedly also prepping its own releases. The pair will be touring together through the back-end of 2015, including a December 10th stop at London's Electric Ballroom. Tickets for tour dates, also listed below, will be available (mostly) August 7th.

Pre-order a copy of Return To The Moon today on iTunes and the 4AD online store. Those who pre-order will get an instant copy of the album's title track, and the first five songs before October 30th.

Listen to the album's first release 'Return to the Moon (Political Song for Didi Bloome to Sing, with Crescendo)' below.

Check out the tracklist below:

  • 1. Return to the Moon (Political Song for Didi Bloome to Sing, with Crescendo)
  • 2. I'm the Man to Be
  • 3. Paul is Alive
  • 4. Need a Friend
  • 5. Silent Ivy Hotel
  • 6. No Time to Crank the Sun
  • 7. It's a Game
  • 8. Sleepin' Light (feat. Ural Thomas)
  • 9. Sad Case
  • 10. Happiness, Missouri
  • 11. Careless

EL VY Tour Dates:


  • 03 - PORTLAND, OR, Doug Fir Lounge
  • 04 - SEATTLE, WA, Neumos
  • 06 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA, The Independent
  • 07 - LOS ANGELES, CA, Troubadour
  • 10 - PHILADELPHIA, PA, Union Transfer
  • 11 - WASHINGTON, DC, 9:30 Club
  • 13 - NEW YORK, NY, Bowery Ballroom
  • 14 - BROOKLYN, NY, Music Hall of Williamsburg
  • 15 - BOSTON, MA, The Sinclair
  • 16 - MONTREAL, QC, Theatre Fairmount
  • 17 - TORONTO, ON, Opera House
  • 19 - CHICAGO, IL, Metro
  • 20 - MILWAUKEE, WI, The Turner
  • 21 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN, First Avenue


  • 01 - COPENHAGEN, Pumpehuset
  • 02 - HAMBURG, Grunspan
  • 03 - AMSTERDAM, Melkweg
  • 04 - COLOGNE, Kantine
  • 06 - BERLIN, Astra
  • 07 - BRUSSELS, AB
  • 08 - PARIS, Trabendo
  • 10 - LONDON, Electric Ballroom
  • 12 - MANCHESTER, Gorilla
  • 13 - DUBLIN, Whelans