We're rapidly approaching the release of Tiny Ruins' new album Olympic Girls on February 1st, and with each new single revealed from the record it grows more fascinating. Following on from the experiential remembrance of 'School of Design' we now have 'Holograms', which takes cues from a not-so-distant speculative future, as Hollie Fullbrook explains:

“The song is a conversation in a way, where one person posits the idea that technology will increasingly connect us. That we will not just be emotionally or mentally connected, but that our bodies will transcend physical and mortal bounds via technology. That we can bring someone back."

The above quote is the perfect intro to 'Holograms', a song that is sighing with gorgeous longing, flecked with atmospheric guitar pings that give us a sense of hope provided by technology. Even if it can only be as metaphysical beings, Tiny Ruins are desperate to reconnect with their loved ones, and that yearning is rendered in crystalline intertwining melodies on 'Holograms'.

The video for 'Holograms' furthers the sci-fi theme, with Fullbrook explaining it by saying:

"For the video, I wanted a sense of longing for this sparkly, colourful other realm, where everyone is connected, in unity. The director Martin Sagadin and I both started out talking about how the song called for a sense of sci-fi, which led us to planets, which led to the idea that we would build planets out of lanterns. This storyline arose where my character is trying to communicate or reach out to another field of existence, via technology. But we felt that the technology could be a bit old and not quite ‘of this time’ - we were inspired by Kate Bush’s 'Cloudbusting' video, or the TV series Maniac, in the sense that technology is kind of old and defunct, and there’s a timelessness or lack of specificity as to time."

With all that in mind, experience 'Holograms' below.

Marathon Artists will put out Tiny Ruins' new album Olympic Girls on February 1st. The band will be in Europe playing plenty of shows over the coming months:

Sat -2-Feb - UK London, Rough Trade East
Tue 05-Feb - UK Bristol, Rough Trade
Thu 21-Mar - NL Amsterdam, Cinetol
Fri 22-Mar - NL Rotterdam, Rotown
Sat 23-Mar - BE Antwerp, Trix Bar
Sun 24-Mar - BE Ostend, Café De Zwerver
Tue 26-Mar - UK Bristol, The Exchange
Wed 27-Mar - UK London, Bush Hall
Thu 28-Mar - UK Manchester, The Kings Arms
Fri 29-Mar - UK Glasgow, The Hug & Pint
Tue 02-Apr - FR Allones, Peniche Excelsior
Wed 03-Apr - FR Tourcoing, Maison Folie Hospice d’havré
Thu 04-Apr - FR Rouen, Le 106
Fri 05-Apr - FR Paris, Les Femmes s’en mêlent, Trabendo
Sat 06-Apr - CH Luzern, Neubad
Mon 08-Apr - DE Munich, Milla
Tue 09-Apr - DE Heidelberg, Karlstorbahnhof
Wed 10-Apr - DE Berlin, Privatclub
Thu 11-Apr - DE Hannover, Feinkostlampe
Fri 12-Apr - DK Copenhagen, Ideal Bar, Vega
Sat 13-Apr - NO Oslo, Pokalen
Sun 14-Apr - SE Stockholm, Obaren