There's been some pretty great tracks popping up this week – it's tough to narrow them down to just five, but here's what we've come up with.

Strangely, covers and remixes seem to have won out this week.

  • Artist: Lykke Li
  • Track Name: 'No Rest For The Wicked (Mokadem Remix)'
  • Location: London, UK
  • Link: Facebook
  • Author: Chris Taylor

Way back in January, we featured Mokadem as part of our January Edict and then became infatuated with her EP, out that same month. Basically, we here are The 405 quite like her dark, often glitchy, house stylings. And now she's taken on the task of remixing Swedish chanteuse Lykke Li's 'No Rest For The Wicked'.

What was already a dark and brooding track about heartache becomes something all the more ethereal, that magical quality Lykke Li possesses given an almost new lease of life. The wonderfully crisp but dark electronic tones Mokadem uses throughout removes the mysterious fog that surrounds the original track and opens up the pitch black sky above, stars and all. It's a wonder that Lykke Li has never thought of getting into doing house vocals because her voice works perfectly in complimenting the minimal beats, especially when given the Mokadem treatment.

  • Artist: M.I.A.
  • Track Name: 'Baddygirl 2'
  • Location: London, UK
  • Link: Facebook
  • Author: The 405

What would you do if Beyoncé stopped replying to your emails regarding that remix she asked you to put together? Well if you're M.I.A., you just release it anyway.

'Baddygirl 2' is M.I.A.'s take on Beyoncé's 'Flawless', and features samples from queen Bey's 2008 single, 'Diva'. Listen below.

  • Artist: POLIÇA
  • Track Name: 'Raw Exit'
  • Location: Minneapolis, USA
  • Link: Facebook
  • Author: Ana Leorne

Poliça have unveiled a track from their forthcoming Raw Exit EP, which according to the press release, is "a postscript to their 2013 album Shulamith, set to be released on Memphis Industries on 30th June."

The four-track EP features 'Raw Exit', 'Baby Blue', 'Great Regret' and their cover of 'You Don’t Own Me' by Lesley Gore. 'Raw Exit' is a synth-filled track combining heavy, imposing melodies with Channy Leaneagh's beautiful voice in an uncanny, yet perfect union. Listen below.

  • Artist: Kyla La Grange
  • Track Name: 'Wrecking Ball (Miley Cyrus Cover)'
  • Location: London, UK
  • Link: Facebook
  • Author: Doron Davidson-Vidavski

As you may have gathered from our recent feature on Kyla La Grange, there's some magic happening on her new album, Cut Your Teeth. She's worked with Jakwob on the majority of it and the overall sound is often ethereal and eerie. The first two singles from the record, 'Cut Your Teeth' and 'The Knife', were good examples of what you could expect from the long-player but la Grange has gone a step further and surprised an otherwise unsuspecting internet with a sinisterly beautiful cover of the Billy Ray Cyrus progeny's blub-fest, 'Wrecking Ball'.

When a cover version enhances the original and gives it a whole new life, you know you're on to a good thing. We particularly like the chilling vocals and the simple but resonating percussion. We hope to hear this live when la Grange takes to the stage at Oslo on the 27th of May.

  • Artist: Anna Calvi
  • Track Name: 'Papi Pacify (FKA Twigs Cover)'
  • Location: London, UK
  • Link: Facebook
  • Author: Victoria Jesperson

Anna Calvi has announced she'll be releasing a covers EP called Strange Weather, featuring covers of FKA Twigs, Connan Mockasin, Suicide, Keren Ann and David Bowie.

Today we got to hear the opening cover from the EP - the stunning 'Papi Pacify' by FKA Twigs. Listen to that below, and be sure to pick the EP up on July 15th.