It's probably fair to assume there's a lot of you huddled into Brighton's noisiest crevices this weekend, for The Great Escape (make sure you check us out at Green Door Store on Saturday 10th, where Tomas Barfod, Jerimiah Jae and UNKNWN – plus more – will be rockin' out).

For those of you who are missing out on the event/dodging the heavens rendered asunder, here's some of the brightest cuts released this week to console you.

  • Artist: Klaxons
  • Track Name: 'Show Me A Miracle'
  • Location: London, UK
  • Link: Facebook
  • Author: Tarynn Law

The highly anticipated third album from the Klaxons, Love Frequency drops in a month (9 June to be exact) on Akashic Records/Sony Red, and we've already heard one song from it titled 'Atom to Atom'. Although their second record wasn't as accepted, the band say that this new album may just be their very best as it sees them going back to their new rave, dance-pop (with just a hint of R&B) roots.

  • Artist: Lipgloss Twins
  • Track Name: 'Wannabe'
  • Location: London?
  • Link: Facebook
  • Author: Chris Taylor

I wonder what goes on at PC Music to create the weird, almost Lynchian bubblegum pop that they release to the masses. Probably their most well known output is that from Hannah Diamond who's 'Pink & Blue' I was completely addicted to it, despite being incredibly baffled by it. Now they're back with some more weirdness in the form of Lipgloss Twins' 'Wannabe'.

This is that PC Music weirdness turned up to 11, so those who didn't in any way shape or form enjoy Hannah Diamond (about as many of you as who loved it, with no-one in the middle) should probably step away now.

It feels like a bunch of different songs collided into one another, as the fractured electronic beats glitch and whine and whirl around each other like some sort of absurd mechanical ballet. Robotic vocals also mutter something about lipgloss and various high street clothes shops as though someone has programmed a robot to take on the affectations of a teenage girl in a Ballardian dystopia.

In short, it's exactly what we've come to expect from PC Music and, if their regular output is not to your taste, 'Wannabe' is definitely not going to win you over, but for those with a soft spot for the utterly bizarre bubblegum pop they put out, 'Wannabe' is exactly more of that.

  • Artist: lonny x
  • Track Name: 'Bananas'
  • Location: USA
  • Link: Facebook
  • Author: The 405

It would be easy to get excited about the borrowed banana line from 'Hollaback Girl', but the reality is that lonny x's latest track thrives outside of a catchy hook, and much like 'Revive', his flow flourishes when placed with a hazy beat - this time provided by NohaBeats. The track is taken from his forthcoming Sleep EP, which we're very excited about hearing. Listen to 'Bananas' below. B-A-N-A-N-A-S.


  • Artist: Say Lou Lou
  • Track Name: 'Peppermint'
  • Location: Sweden/Australia
  • Link: Facebook
  • Author: Kylie O'Connell

Swedish/Australian twins Say Lou Lou have shared their gorgeous new track 'Peppermint'. B-side to the current single 'Everything We Touch', it successfully captures their beauty from within.

By turning the tempo down a notch, they've let vocals lead the way. Soft in its approach, this sound is as fresh as its title suggests. We'll be sure to keep an eye out for their debut record due out later this year.

The duo take to the stage at Brighton Dome for The Great Escape this Saturday 10th May.

  • Artist: Sasha Keable
  • Track Name: 'Sweetest Talk'
  • Location: London, UK
  • Link: Facebook
  • Author: The 405

Sasha Keable is the queen of UK R&B as far as we're concerned, and if last year's Black Book EP wasn't enough reason for you to believe us, her forthcoming Lemongrass and Lime Leaves EP (out May 12th) probably will.

Following the recently released 'Living Without You' is 'Sweetest Talk', a track about Keable thinking she could be enough to stop her love interest's "stupid ways". It reminds us of Jessie Ware but, ya know, a lot better.

Listen below. Keable plays a sold-out show at Birthday's on May 26th.