Chaz Bundick has been releasing new music through a variety of other projects these past few years, but now he's back with another album as Toro Y Moi. Boo Boo will be his fifth project under the creative moniker and it is set for release on July 7 via Carpark Records.

Listen to Toro Y Moi's lead single 'Girl Like You' from the forthcoming project and read a detailed statement from the artist below.

"After 7 years of touring and recording, I found myself becoming self conscious about my position in life as a “famous” person, or at least my version of whatever that is. My dreams had become my reality, yet I was somehow unable to accept this new environment. I couldn’t help but fall into what might be described as an identity crisis. A feedback loop of fearful thoughts left me feeling confused. I felt as though I no longer knew what it was that I actually wanted and needed in and out of life, and at times I felt unable to even tell what was real.

During this time of personal turmoil, I turned to music as a form of therapy, and it helped me cope with the pain that I was feeling. I’d listen to the same ambient song over and over again, trying to insulate myself from reality. I fell in love with space again.

By the time I felt ready to begin working on a new record, I knew that this idea of space within music would be something that propelled my new work forward. The artists that were influencing what I was making included everyone from Travis Scott to Daft Punk, Frank Ocean to Oneohtrix Point Never, Kashif and Gigi Masin. I recognized that the common thread between these artists was their attention to a feeling of space, or lack thereof. I decided that I wanted to make a Pop record with these ideas in mind. That idea for a record is what is what eventually became Boo Boo."

  • Tracklist
  • 1. Mirage
  • 2. No Show
  • 3. Mona Lisa
  • 4. Pavement
  • 5.Don't Try
  • 6. Windows
  • 7. Embarcadaro
  • 8. Girl Like You
  • 9. You and I
  • 10. Labyrinth
  • 11. Inside My Head