Cate Le Bon will be releasing a new album called Reward on May 24th, and has today shared a video for a new song from the album called 'Home To You'.

Last time out she shared the psychological exploration 'Daylight Matters', and this time she asks us to look both within and without ourselves in considering what is 'Home To You'. Le Bon's new single is a jingling psych-pop soufflé that ever so delicately purveys her thoughts into your mind. At first the harsh imagery of the song might pass you by, as her words bob on playful currents of melody, but a closer look reveals a much bleaker theme. 'Home To You' considers the idea of home, and the emotional hardship suffered by those who are displaced from their own, never feeling accepted or comfortable again. As the song progresses, more jagged and agitated guitar and vocals start to let themselves known in the song, evoking the underlying discomfort and anguish in its subject.

The video for 'Home To You' was created by Phil Collins, who traveled to Lunik IX, a neighborhood of Košice (Eastern Slovakia) to film the large Roma community who, due to successive governmental and municipal policies, often live in slums and on isolated, dilapidated estates. Collins says of the project:

“In an age of discord, in which the politics of division and xenophobia — from Brexit to Trump — tears communities apart across nations and continents, it is crucial to stand in solidarity everywhere with those subjected to routine discrimination and denied a sense of belonging. With its invocation of yearning, absence and loss, Cate’s hypnotic canon expresses this conviction with the lithe, acute awareness found in the best of critical pop, and speaks to its moment just like ‘Ghost Town’ or ‘Private Armies’ spoke to theirs.”

Mexican Summer will put out Cate Le Bon's new album Reward on May 24th. She's got these European dates coming up, followed by a round of North American ones:

Sat. May 18 - Wrexham, UK @ Focus Wales Festival
Fri. May 24 - Rouen, FR @ Rush Festival
Sat. May 25 - Toulouse, FR @ Discipline Festival
Sun. May 26 - Madrid, ES @ Independance Club
Mon. May 27 - Donostia, ES @ Dabadaba
Tue. May 28 - Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound Festival
Wed. May 29 - Bordeaux, FR @ iBoat
Fri. May 31 - Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret Festival
Sat. June 1 - Neustrelitz, DE @ Immergut Festival
Sun. June 2 - Berlin, DE @ Kantine Am Berghain
Mon. June 3 - Copenhagen, DK @ Den Grå Hal (w/ Deerhunter)
Tue. June 4 - Aarhus, DK @ Tape
Thu. June 6 - Cologne, DE @ Bumann & SOHN
Fri. June 7 - Brussels, BE @ Les Ateliers Claus
Sat. June 8 - Paris, FR @ Villette Sonique
Mon. June 10 - London, UK @ Village Underground

Keep up with The 405's Tracks of the Day in our 2019 playlist, updated every weekday.