Australian indie superstar Courtney Barnett recently announced her new album Tell Me How You Really Feel for release on May 18th, as well as unleashing the punk blast 'Nameless, Faceless'. Today she follows that up with a second teaser from the album 'Need A Little Time', which shows a different side.

All of us have felt like we "need a little time out," but few have expressed it so eloquently and devastatingly as Barnett does on this new single. It starts off with a simple guitar stroll, Barnett musing "I don't know a lot about you/ but you seem to know a lot about me." It must be a feeling she has a lot, considering the personal stories she tells in her songs, and this one is no different as she self-effacingly admits "I'm sorry that I lost my patience/ I need a little time out... from me," the song floating up delicately as she hits the "from me" before slamming it back down with guitar fuzz and adding the kicker "and you." It's an intelligent little sonic move from the songwriter, who has no shortage of smarts in her songs already. 'Need A Little Time' then stretches its legs out into a full-on run, harking back to 90s alt heroes Pavement, as Barnett's inner monologue builds in frustration at herself and others. By the time the song circles back to its hook, we fully understand why she needs a little time out.

The song is accompanied by a video made by long time collaborator Danny Cohen, which taps into the singer's need for space. Watch it below.

Pre-order Tell Me How You Really Feel here ahead of its May 18th release. She'll be playing all over the world throughout the year, the EU leg of her tour sees her playing these dates:

Fri 25th May - Belfast at BBC’s Biggest Weekend
Tues 29th May - Leeds at O2 Academy
Wed 30th May - Brussels at Ancienne Belgique
Thu 31st May - Utrecht at Tivoli Vredenburg Ronda
Sat 2nd June - Glasgow at Barrowlands
Sun 3rd June - London at All Points East Festival
Mon 4th June - Manchester at Academy
Tues 5th June - Bristol at O2 Academy
Wed 6th June - London at Roundhouse
Sat 9th June - Paris at Bataclan
Sun 10th June - Luxembourg at Den Atelier
Mon 11th June - Berlin at Astra Kulturhaus
Wed 13th June - Cologne at Live Music Hall