Norwegian newcomer girl in red has been putting out charming singles for a little while now, some of which were collected on chapter 1 and the second batch will be collected on chapter 2, which is out on Friday. Both EPs will also be collected together into beginnings, which will be released on Friday physically and digitally.

Ahead of chapter 2, girl in red has shared a new track called 'bad idea!'. She explains the genesis of the track: “i got the idea for the song after being on and off with a girl. i found myself going back to her repeatedly even tho i knew i shouldn't have. for me bad idea is about wanting something very intensely and going for it without thinking about the consequences.”

As much as 'bad idea!' focuses on the negative aspects of this unfortunate affair, the song also packs a fizzing excitement at the potential of a sexy showdown. A ripping pop punk song, with plenty of propulsion and dynamism, 'bad idea!' is an instant earworm, made even more so by the excitement of the lyricism. This is perhaps the most up front we've heard girl in red yet, as she details their physical, bordering on abusive, interactions, and then fully commits to expressing the doldrums of her emotions that she's left with after the dalliance is done.

girl in red's beginnings is out Friday, you can pre-order the vinyl here. She's touring North America through September and then will be in Europe on these dates:

08 - The Lansdowne, Sydney
09 - Front Left Live, The Forum, Melbourne
28 -Dublin Academy Green Room, Ireland
29 - Electric Ballroom, London
30 - La Gaite Lyrique, Paris

03 - Luxor, Cologne
04 - Melkweg Oude Zaal, Amsterdam NL
06 - Trix Club, Antwerp BE
08 - Iceland Airwaves Festival, Iceland
11 - Debaser Bar Brooklyn, Stockholm SE
12 - Lille Vega, Copenhagen DK
13 - Musik & Frieden, Berlin
16 - Sonic Visions Festival, Luxembourg

05 - Parkteatret, Oslo
06 - Tyven, Trondheim
13 - Tou, Stavanger
14 - Underlig, Bergen

Keep up with The 405's Tracks of the Day in our 2019 playlist, updated every weekday.