Canadian pounding electro-pop producer Marie Davidson is releasing her new album Working Class Woman on October 5th through Ninja Tune, and today has unleashed the pumping mission statement 'Work It'.

If the title of the new album Working Class Woman seems unusual, Davidson brings it into sharp clarity with the opening line of her new track: “You wanna know how I get away with everything? I work, all the fucking time.” This is just the beginning, as Davidson's thudding beats shove us through four minutes of her uncompromising spoken-word proclamations of the necessity for personal industry. The message is fierce and focused, and even as you can hear her smirk and laugh at certain points, the effect is more unnerving than ingratiating, especially when combined with her thick blocks of synthesizer. Towards the end she's simply demanding "work... sweat," and her meticulous production demands it from you. By the time she signs off with "see you later," you're alert and at attention, ready for the next urgent blast from this domineering figure. Check out 'Work It' below.

Take a listen to Marie Davidson's previous single 'So Right' if you missed it. After the October 5th release of Working Class Woman she'll be touring plenty, so catch her at one of these dates:

04 Oct 18 - London, UK - Electrowerkz
05 Oct 18 - Berlin, DE - RBMF @ Prince Charles
12 Oct 18 - Barcelona, ES - Nitsa
13 Oct 18 - Krakow, PL - Unsound Festival
19 Oct 18 - Antwerp, BE - Trix
20 Oct 18 - Brussels, BE - Le Brass
25 Oct 18 - Tromso, NO - Insomnia Festival
27 Oct 18 - Amsterdam, NL - De School
31 Oct 18 - Paris, FR - Le Petit Bain
01 Nov 18 - Nantes, FR - SOY Festival
02 Nov 18 - Bergen, NO - Ekko Festival
09 Nov 18 - Lisbon, PT - Lux Frágil
10 Nov 18 - Manchester, UK - Warehouse Project, Mayfield Depot
16 Nov 18 - Bristol, UK - Colston Hall
23 Nov 18 - London, UK - XOYO
06 Dec 18 - Brooklyn, NY - Elsewhere
15 Dec 18 - Los Angeles,CA - Echoplex