British songwriter Shura will be releasing her new album forevher next month on August 16th, and we've already loved 'religion' and 'BKLYNLDN' from it. Today she makes it a hattrick with the wonderful 'the stage'. Last time out on 'religion' she and her new partner were getting intimate in the bedroom, but on 'the stage' she rolls time back a bit and takes us to their first date, as she explains:

“I had travelled to NYC to go on it, so I was a little bit nervous as this was definitely THE most high stakes date I'd ever been on... I DM'd my friends MUNA who were playing a show the night that I arrived and asked them if they could get us both in, and they loved the concept of a first date at a MUNA gig. I wasn't sure how the date was going until she took my hand whilst trying to lead me to a spot where I could see them play (i.e. basically nowhere in the venue as I'm too short!). Then I knew it was all going to be OK.”

'the stage' indeed plays out like a narrative of the night, Shura's nerves coming across in the playful verses, where she trippingly expresses her mind over staccato piano. Things all turn to a beautiful mush in the chorus, where she and her date finally give up trying to find a spot to see the band, and just "spend the evening kissing." Here Shura's confidence explodes and so does the music, blasting into a widescreen synth jam akin to recent Tame Impala, with our singer's new swagger and happiness brimming out of the swelling song. 'the stage' is perfectly timed with the height of summer, a time of overflowing pheromones and potential for plenty of romance. If you find yourself in a hot and heavy situation, put Shura's new tracks on for the perfect soundtrack.

Shura's new album forevher comes out through Secretly Canadian on August 16th. She's got these UK and EU dates:

Mon. Nov. 4 – Paris, FR @ Café de la Danse
Tue. Nov. 5 – Cologne, DE @ Luxor
Wed. Nov. 6 – Munich, DE @ Ampere
Thu. Nov. 7 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
Fri. Nov. 8 – Hamburg, DE @ Mojo
Sun. Nov. 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Hotel Cecil
Tue. Nov. 12 – Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg
Wed. Nov. 13 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique Orangerie
Thu. Nov. 14 – London, UK @ Roundhouse
Sat. Nov. 16 – Dublin, IE @ Academy
Sun. Nov. 17 – Glasgow, UK @ Oran Mor
Mon. Nov. 18 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Ritz Manchester

Keep up with The 405's Tracks of the Day in our 2019 playlist, updated every weekday.