Tiny Ruins, the New Zealand project led by singer Hollie Fullbrook, are releasing a new album called Olympic Girls on February 1st of next year, and having already shared 'How Much' and the title track, they return this week with the observational stunner 'School of Design'. Fullbrook describes how the song came together over a couple of different periods:

"The lyrics came from a real experience where I did find myself wandering around an empty design school in a foreign city while on tour. That's where the imagery of the fresh white paint on the walls and the 'archives' comes from, as that's what I saw there. I wrote the song maybe two years later. You draw from experiences to articulate other feelings, other thoughts...a cinematic image that you know well is used to give life to something else, another feeling altogether... It’s a song about systems, about the confining nature of systems, and wanting to find a new way."

'School of Design' was written and recorded live with Fullbrook's bandmates, although they are very much on the peripheries of this song, adding wintry chimes and whispering violin to create a shivering atmosphere in the chilly song. Fullbrook guides us through the hallways of the 'School of Design' in her memory, seemingly deserted of people yet full of meaning, and we meander along with her as she tries to put the images in order. "I was struck by a feeling/ it's hard to describe," she admits, but we have plenty of subtle cues to work with in 'School of Design', especially as we continue to move through archives full of dusty books. Like the best of songs, it's likely each individual listener will be diverted to a completely unique recess of their minds, but each will take away something tangible and thought-provoking when they leave the 'School of Design'.

Listen to 'School of Design' below.

Tiny Ruins' third album Olympic Girls will come out through Marathon Artists on February 1st. The quartet is touring Europe in March and April:

Thu 21-Mar NL Amsterdam, Cinetol
Fri 22-Mar NL Rotterdam, Rotown
Sat 23-Mar BE Antwerp, Trix Bar
Sun 24-Mar BE Ostend, Café De Zwerver
Tue 26-Mar UK Bristol, The Exchange
Wed 27-Mar UK London, Bush Hall
Thu 28-Mar UK Manchester, The Kings Arms
Fri 29-Mar UK Glasgow, The Hug & Pint
Tue 02-Apr FR Allones, Peniche Excelsior
Wed 03-Apr FR Tourcoing, Maison Folie Hospice d’havré
Thu 04-Apr FR Rouen, Le 106
Fri 05-Apr FR Paris, Les Femmes s’en mêlent, Trabendo
Sat 06-Apr CH Luzern, Neubad
Mon 08-Apr DE Munich, Milla
Tue 09-Apr DE Heidelberg, Karlstorbahnhof
Wed 10-Apr DE Berlin, Privatclub
Thu 11-Apr DE Hannover, Feinkostlampe
Fri 12-Apr DK Copenhagen, Ideal Bar, Vega
Sat 13-Apr NO Oslo, Pokalen
Sun 14-Apr SE Stockholm, Obaren