Swedish singer-songwriter Kristian Matsson, aka The Tallest Man On Earth, has just announced a new album: Dark Bird Is Home. It's his fourth album, arriving after 2012's There's No Leaving Now, and will be released on 12th May.

You can pre-order it from a variety of places, see 'em all here.

The announcement has been accompanied with a trailer for the album, directed by Dan Huiting (who has also made videos for Local Natives, POLICA, Robyn, Bon Iver), in which Matsson himself rows around on a lake in crisp black-and-white, talking about deep thoughts. Twice he repeats a poignant line: "This is not the end; this is fine" – is he referencing death, or perhaps that this may be his final album? We doubt it's the latter.

Watch it below.

In addition, festival dates in Denmark, Netherlands, Germany and Kentucky, USA, have been added to his schedule – you'll find those at the end of this post.

  • Dark Bird Is Home tracklisting:
  • 01. Fields of Our Home
  • 02. Darkness of the Dream
  • 03. Singers
  • 04. Slow Dance
  • 05. Little Nowhere Towns
  • 06. Sagres
  • 07. Timothy
  • 08. Beginners
  • 09. Seventeen
  • 10. Dark Bird Is Home

  • The Tallest Man On Earth Festival Appearances:
  • Fri. June 19 - Sun. June 21 – Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret Festival
  • Fri. June 19 - Sun. June 21 – Scheessel, DE @ Hurricane Festival
  • Fri. June 19 - Sun. June 21 - Munich, DE @ Southside Festival
  • Sat. June 27 – Sat. July 4 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
  • Fri. July 17 - Sun. July 19 – Louisville, KY @ Forecastle