Almost exactly a year on from her last album Out In The Storm, Katie Crutchfield aka Waxahatchee has revealed that she has a new 6-track EP called Great Thunder coming out through Merge on September 7th. The songs on the collection were first written during the time of recording her earlier albums Cerulean Salt and Ivy Tripp, but were earmarked for her experimental recording project Great Thunder, which soon faded into non-existence. The tracks were recently unearthed by Crutchfield and producer Brad Cook, and re-formed and recorded at Justin Vernon’s April Base studio in Wisconsin.

“I would say that it is a complete 180 from the last record: super stripped-down, quiet, and with me performing solo, it’s a throwback to how I started,” says Crutchfield.

The first song to be released from Great Thunder is 'Chapel of Pines', an elegiac and contemplative acoustic ballad that is certainly reminiscent of Waxahatchee's lo-fi origins. Of course, Crutchfield's voice, production and sheer presence have all grown tremendously since then, meaning 'Chapel of Pines' is just as compelling and effective as any of her louder, thornier rock songs.

The video accompaniment for 'Chapel of Pines' sees Crutchfield and Kevin Morby walking together in the wilderness, until night falls and there is a mysterious disappearance... check it out below.