LoneLady – you know, the lone lady who gave us the groovesome disco funkery of 'Groove It Out' in October last year – has just announced details of her first album. Details means tracklist, name of the album, artwork (above), and release date. All these bits of information – "journalism" 101. I should've called this post, "LoneLady details new album, Hinterland" but I went with what it is now. Sorry for everything I've just typed.

Anyway, this arrives after her 2010 album Nerve Up, and will be released on 23rd March. Alongside this album announcement is a new track called 'Bunkerpop'. Like 'Groove It Out' it's an extended tune, lasting almost 6 minutes. With a beat that sounds very much like the one in 'She's Lost Control' by fellow Mancunians, Joy Division, the track is an electro-pop-ish slow-builder filled with frenetic guitar palm-muting and fragmented melodies, whooshing with waves of energy every now and then. Listen to it below!

Pre-order Hinterland from Bleep or also from iTunes.

  • Hinterland tracklist:
  • 01. Into The Cave
  • 02. Bunkerpop
  • 03. Hinterland
  • 04. Groove It Out
  • 05. (I Can See) Landscapes
  • 06. Silvering
  • 07. Flee!
  • 08. Red Scrap
  • 09. Mortar Remembers You