"The album was recorded this past winter, mostly at Public HiFi in Austin and Tarbox in Cassadaga, NY," says Spoon. "It was the first time we've had the chance to work with Dave Fridmann (Flaming Lips, MGMT, Creaming Jesus) and we're pretty sure that the levels indicate this to be our loudest record -- it's also Deux Deux's favoriteWhat else...Side One begins with the gnarliest Jim Eno drum sound ever recorded and Side Two ends with Rob Pope's bass amp completely breaking down to fuzz + hiss at the end of a take. The record's got beats, whispers, chants, guitars, whistles, secret codes, and horror-movie strings. It's got songs about holy rollers, back masking, real life properties of physics, love during the apocalypse and a brief reappearance of Jonathon Fisk."

You can listen to the album over at iTunes Radio. They Want My Soul is out on August 5th via Loma Vista.

  • Tracklisting:
  • 01. Rent I Pay
  • 02. Inside Out
  • 03. Rainy Taxi
  • 04. Do You
  • 05. Knock Knock Knock
  • 06. Outlier
  • 07. They Want My Soul
  • 08. I Just Don’t Understand
  • 09. Let Me Be Mine
  • 10. New York Kiss