'Water Fountain', the first track from upcoming album Nikki Nack comes paired with the news that tUnE-yArDs' will be opening for Arcade Fire on a leg of their North American tour. That seems like more than serendipity because Merrill Garbus nails the carnival theme Win Butler and co. were going for on Reflektor with this new track. Its joy turned outwards, art at its most fun. A musical embodiment of colourful streamers, bright costumes, and dancing in the streets.

The album will feature producers John Hill and Malay, a first for Garbus who has described her decision to collaborate:

"I had to let go of tUnE-yArDs being rigidly my production. I have a very specific vision for the sound of the band and I don't think women producers get enough credit for doing their own stuff, so I was resistant - but we grew, Nate and I both, and the songs grew. And it turns out that's what's most important: the songs, not my ego," she

Nikki Nack is out May 6th via 4AD. See the tracklist and stream 'Water Fountain' below.

  • 1. Find A New Way
  • 2. Water Fountain
  • 3. Time Of Dark
  • 4. Real Thing
  • 5. Look Around
  • 6. Hey Life
  • 7. Sink-O
  • 8. Why Do We Dine On The Tots?
  • 9. Stop That Man
  • 10. Wait For A Minute
  • 11. Left Behind
  • 12. Rocking Chair
  • 13. Manchild

Wanna hear more music like this? Check out 405 Radio, or our New Music section.