Jape began in Dublin as the side project of Redneck Manifesto bassist Richie Egan, but they have been established as a band in their own right for many years now. Whereas the Redneck Manifesto play intriguing instrumental rock, Jape is an entirely different concern, preferring to concentrate on melodic synth-based pop songs. Their third album Ritual won the Choice Music Prize in 2008 – basically Ireland's version of the Mercury – and this is the long-awaited follow-up. The three year gap puzzled many people, but it seems that Jape have spent the time refining their songs and whilst they have made something that is initially less immediate than Ritual, they have also delivered an album which reveals more depths with each listen.

It begins with the short dreamy track 'An Hallucination' and eases you in, but soon we are in pop song territory with 'Please Don't Turn the Record Off', the first of many catchy, almost anthemic songs. These are the two sides of Jape if you like, and this album really kicks into gear when they combine their knack of writing a good pop song with their dreamier, reflective tendencies. The strong hooks bring you in and the downbeat material creeps up on you.

Songs like ‘One of Those Days That Just Feels So Long’ or the more guitar driven ‘Scorpio’ are hard to get out of your head once you have heard them a couple of times, and catchiest of all is ‘You Make The Love’ which takes a new wave blueprint and updates it. Richie's vocals are strong throughout, understated but tuneful, and at times reminiscent of Steve Mason of the Beta Band.

Sometimes the 80s synth vibe is overpowering, as on ‘Too Many People’, but elsewhere Jape are as content to strip things back and bring percussion and acoustic guitar to the mix, such as the reflective ‘Borrowed Time With Peace’. It's easy to forget that Richie has also played with Irish acts David Kitt and Villagers and this song is closer to them than synth pop.

In a similar vein ‘It's Shadow Won't Make Noise’ is a mesmerising acoustic tune with hints of psychedelic folk and experimental ambient music. Title track ‘Ocean of Frequency’ brings the album to a strong close, it’s a percussion based pop song inspired by the theory of quantum mechanics and not unlike something that Hot Chip might attempt.

One of the stand-out tracks for me is ‘The Oldest Mind’, which is dreamy and downbeat and the guitars are more prominent in the luscious mix. I’m not sure if there is a deliberate lyrical theme running through the album, but this song comes across as a hymn to maturity and seniority, whilst ‘One of Those Days’ details a walk along the Irish coast and the way memory and nostalgia is triggered by finding certain things. Overall this is a more mature, reflective Jape this time around, and Oceans of Frequency is an album that rewards repeated listening.