New signings to the awesome Alcopop! roster, Canadian band Oh No! Yoko have made waves in all the right places with last year's self-released album Pau Pau. One of the singles from that record, '90s Kids', has been a regular feature at indie nightclubs across the country since this release and their cult following are sure to be hoping they keep up this good form. Hailing from Abbotsford, the band consists of keyboardist, guitarist and vocalist Everett Morris, drummer Liam Hamilton and bassist and synth player Nic Dennis (whose role in the band also, rather brilliantly, includes 'yelling').

'Sorrow' is an atmospheric and instrumental piece that works as a predecessor for what comes after, and also hints that the band offer much more than pop songs, the intensity of the song almost looks towards post-rock. A real slow burner with minimal vocals, it works as a great opener. The highlight of the EP is 'Mimi Ashi', and what a great name that is for a song. It has an Everything Everything meets Clap Your Hands Say Yeah sound, kind of an oddball indie-pop aesthetic that packs in jittering guitar lines, handclaps and glorious pop vibes. With witty lyrics about Louis Vitton and other unlikely subject matter, this is a song sure to capture attention.

The final track on the EP is 'Gerry', a song that starts with experimental and almost mathy guitar and drums, before some powerful keyboards come to the fore . There are elements of Pavement in the short running time too. 'Sorrow (2)' closes the EP in style with its 90s American indie meets best of Britpop sound, alongside a more contemporary sound favoured by the likes of Tubelord. This is another fine EP to add to the Alcopop! roster, and one that showcases the huge potential of Oh No! Yoko.