Anyone who bought Parenthetical Girls' Privilege series, the collection of five EPs released quarterly between 2010 and 2012 might find their newest album a bit of a disappointment; it is, after all, Privilege (Abridged), a collection of the finest tracks from those five EPs.

But then anyone who bought the EPs probably already knew that, and will probably still enjoy Privilege (Abridged), as it's a new way to enjoy old(ish) tracks.

Opening with 'Evelyn McHale', Zac Pennington's theatrical warbling is backed by swooning synths and the direction Parenthetical Girls have gone in is clear to anyone. Still experimental with their pop (just listen to 'The Common Touch' and 'For All the Final Girls', with its beautiful strings), the band just sound bigger, with dark dance beats of 'Careful Who You Dance With' being a particular highlight. Nobody else could make the lyric "Somebody's bound to get his head kicked in" sound quite so sensuous.

Styles vary wildly track from track; the stomping, rollicking, at times embittered 'The Pornographer' is followed by their latest single 'Sympathy for Spastics', with its delicate piano twinkles. There's not a bad song on this album, although people will naturally have their own favourites. The upbeat pop of the excellent 'A Note to Self', to the saccharine closer 'Curtains', it’s hard to find fault in Privilege Abridged.

If you're really nit-picking, maybe the tracklisting could have been better organised; the pause in 'The Pornographer' in the last minute is maybe a beat too long and creates a (perhaps intentional?) jarring effect. But these are niggles at best.

It makes you wonder about the quality of the songs that were cut from the five original EPs for this record. Parenthetical Girls are the kind of band that put blood, sweat, and tears into their work - often literally, as the Privilege EPs were hand-numbered in Pennington’s blood – so you'd imagine the output was of a similar level throughout. How they picked the final 12 is anyone's guess.