Label: Dangerbird/Warners Release Date: 13/04/09 Link: Swoon is Silversun Pickups’ second long-play offering, set for release on April 13th, and will be preceded by the single, ‘There’s No Secrets This Year’ on April 6th. The album follows the LA band’s 2006 debut album ‘Carnavas’, of which extensive promotion included supporting Foo Fighters and numerous festival appearances. Boyish and bright, the album comes after a manic month in the Silversun Pickups’ hectic career – including four London shows, a date at American festival Coachella, and popping in to the prestigious SXSW in Texas. Where do they find the time? With dazed and throbbing guitars drawing you straight in, opener ‘There’s No Secrets This Year’ gets your foot trapping, stat. Frontman Brian Aubert’s young and moody voice, reeking of Brian Molko, provides a refreshing change from Northern teenagers whinging about how grim it is Oop Norf. Highlights of the album include epic foot-tapper and previous single ‘Panic Switch’, and the harmonic yet brisk growler ‘Sort Of’. Silversun Pickups claim their influences to be in the ball-park of Modest Mouse, Elliott Smith, The Velvet Underground and Secret Machines, although I can’t really hear too much of that going on. They’re a bit more Placebo with a icing sprinkling of The Smashing Pumpkins for good measure. In a place where distorted guitar meets with violin harmonies, Aubert states, “I’m really proud of ‘Swoon’”. The album was written after the band locked themselves in a room to begin working on the album – a different approach to the more haphazard recording of the first release. Snarling guitars at the ready, what is lost in vocal maturity is made up for in energetic guitar activity and a haunting yet strong resonating collection. Definitely an intriguing one to see live. Rating: 7/10